Essex County Executive Joseph N. DiVincenzo Jr. invites the public to the 2022 Essex County Free SummerMusic Concert Series, which brings a diverse group of musicians and entertainers to perform at locations throughout the historic Essex County park system.

This year’s series features three concert and fireworks spectaculars, five concerts in Brookdale Park, 12 concerts throughout the county, six cultural festivals and seven waterfront concerts at the Clipper Pavilion in West Orange.

Over the course of 12 weeks this summer, there will be 33 different events, featuring local and international acts in jazz, rock ’n’ roll, big band, reggae and more. The series begins Tuesday, June 21, with a concert by Jersey Sound in Yanticaw Park in Nutley and concludes on Saturday, Sept. 10, with the Essex County House Music Festival in Weequahic Park in Newark.

There will be three concert and fireworks spectaculars: The New Jersey Symphony Orchestra on Friday, June 24, Branch Brook Park, “Lady Supreme: A Diana Ross Experience,” on Tuesday, June 28, in Weequahic Park and The Infernos on Friday, July 1, in Brookdale Park.

The concert schedule:

  • Saturday, June 18, 1 to 7 p.m., Monte Irvin Orange Park, Orange: Gospel Festival.
  • Tuesday, June 21, 7 p.m., Yanticaw Park: Jersey Sound.
  • Wednesday, June 22, 7 p.m., Verona Park: Jobonanno’s Spirit of Asbury Review.
  • Friday, June 24, 7:30 p.m., Branch Brook Park: New Jersey Symphony Orchestra followed by a fireworks spectacular.
  • Tuesday, June 28, 7:30 p.m., Weequahic Park: “Lady Supreme: A Diana Ross Experience,” followed by a fireworks spectacular.
  • Friday, July 1, 7:30 p.m., Brookdale Park: The Infernos, followed by a fireworks spectacular.
  • Tuesday, July 5, 7 p.m., South Mountain Recreation Complex Clipper Pavilion: The Chatham Community Band.
  • Wednesday, July 6, 7 p.m., Veterans Memorial Park, Newark: The Amazing Grace Little Band.
  • Friday, July 8, 7:30 p.m., Brookdale Park: ’80s Revolution.
  • Saturday, July 9, 11 a.m. to 9 p.m., Monte Irvin Orange Park: Food Truck and Jazz Festival.
  • Tuesday, July 12, 7 p.m., Riverbank Park, Newark: Funk Salsa Urban.
  • Tuesday, July 12, 7 p.m., South Mountain Recreation Complex Clipper Pavilion: The West Orange Community Band.
  • Wednesday, July 13, 7 p.m., Watsessing Park, Bloomfield: Epic Soul.
  • Friday, July 15, 7:30 p.m., Brookdale Park: The Jersey Tenors.
  • Tuesday, July 19, 7 p.m., Ivy Hill Park, Newark: The Verdict Reggae.
  • Tuesday, July 19, 7 p.m., South Mountain Recreation Complex Clipper Pavilion: The Maplewood Concert Band.
  • Wednesday, July 20, 7 p.m., Vailsburg Park, Newark: Layonne Holmes.
  • Friday, July 22, 7:30 p.m., Brookdale Park: Frontiers: A Journey Tribute.
  • Tuesday, July 26, 7 p.m., Riverfront Park: Grupo Marachando.
  • Tuesday, July 26, 7 p.m., South Mountain Recreation Complex Clipper Pavilion: Peter and the Master Key.
  • Wednesday, July 27, 7 p.m., Cedar Grove Park: Jersey Sound.
  • Friday, July 29, 7:30 p.m., Brookdale Park: Bell Bottom Blues: Clapton Tribute Band.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 2, 7 p.m., Grover Cleveland Park, Caldwell/Essex Fells: The Kootz.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 2, 7 p.m., South Mountain Recreation Complex Clipper Pavilion: APEX Ensemble.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 3, 7 p.m., Independence Park, Newark: Brazilian Experience.
  • Friday, Aug. 5, 7:30 p.m., Brookdale Park: The Discoteks.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 9, 7 p.m., South Mountain Recreation Complex Clipper Pavilion: To be announced.
  • Friday, Aug. 12, 7 p.m., Eagle Rock Reservation: Cast of Beatlemania.
  • Saturday, Aug. 13, 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monte Irvin Orange Park: Caribbean Festival.
  • Saturday, Aug. 13, 4 to 9 p.m., Ivy Hill Park: International Food and Music Festival.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 16, 7 p.m., South Mountain Recreation Complex Clipper Pavilion: Sterling Sample, Steel Drummer.
  • Saturday, Aug. 27, and Sunday, Aug. 28, noon to 8 p.m., Monte Irvin Orange Park: Latino Festival.
  • Saturday, Sept. 10, 11 a.m. to 8 p.m., Weequahic Park: House Music Festival.

More information: Essex County Department of Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs, 973‑268-3500.