Essex and Passaic County voters returned a slate of Democratic incumbents to their seats representing the 34th state Legislative District this Election Day.

With 91% of precincts reporting as of 1 a.m. Wednesday, incumbent state Sen. Nia Gill 2,502 bested Republican challenger Scott Pollack 32,502 to 9,304, reported.

Assembly incumbent Democrats had similarly commanding leads. Thomas Giblin had 32,061 votes and Britnee Timberlake 31,730. Republican challengers lagged far behind — Tafari K. Anderson at 9,091 and Irene DeVita at 9,638. Also on the ballot was Stop the Insanity Party nominee Clenard H. Childress Jr., who received just 349 votes by that point.

The top two candidates will each take an Assembly Seat.

Those results are unofficial, and do not include any provisional ballots or mail-in votes that hadn’t yet been processed.

Montclair voters similarly backed the incumbents. In the state Senate race, they gave Gill 10,635 votes and Pollack just 1,519, with 31 of the township's 35 districts reporting by 1 a.m.

In the Assembly race, Giblin had 10,490 Montclair votes, Timberlake 10,439, Anderson 1,474, DeVita 1,527 and  Childress 101.

“I would like to thank the voters of Montclair and the other towns in the 34th district for their vote of confidence," Giblin said. "I look forward to serving in my new term that commences in January 2022. If any residents need constituent service from my office, they can contact (973)779-3125 or Any ideas or suggestions that can be incorporated into positive legislation is most welcomed. The New Jersey Legislative Apportionment Commission will be considering district lines for the upcoming 2023 Primary Elections.”